Band-aides Part Two

First I want to say that I am not going to try to sell you on the books and program I am mentioning here in this blog post. I just want to share the info with you so you can relate to the epiphany I had and it won’t make any sense if I don’t mention the books. I received my new “Take Back Your Temple” books in the a few days ago. There is a members guide and a journal.  I also bought the leaders guide in hopes that someone may want to do this with me. I even asked my church secretary to look into me leading a small group. My thinking is that it is better not to struggle alone or start a new journey alone.  Well, I let the books  sit for days. I was busy with work and then I was feeling awful. I went to my doctor who is also a Christian. He said two things to me that really shook my tree. He said, ” You must get the stress out of your life and you must lose weight, it’s killing ya.” I was shocked and at the same time I knew it. I knew he was telling me the truth.

When I got home and I picked up the Take Back Your Temple book, I was filled with peace. I know I am making the right decision to rip off the band-aid of bad eating and lazy habits by starting the new Christian based weight loss program.  I have not officially started it yet, I want to start on Sunday.

The first step in the program is “Anchor Yourself in God” That is a powerful idea. Not lean on God, you can always lean off of God. Anchor yourself in God. Firmly put your life, love, health, job, family, well-being, hate, anger, everything that makes you who your are in God’s hands, anchor it in God. Think about what that means. Every decision, every move you make, every word you say, every breath you take is anchored in the will, love and grace of God. How much better will my life and yours be if we anchor ourself in God?

What would it take to do that, to truly Anchor my life in God? I thought I had that kind of relationship with the Lord. I go to church, I pray, I study the Bible and I try to be kind to others. You know what? You can do that and not be centered on God. I have not been centered on God I have been centered on me.  To Anchor  my life in God I will have to pray, a lot. Before I get myself out of bed, before I life a finger to eat, walk, move or think I will have to pray. I pray, but more around my schedule than around God.  I know I am weak and I know I can’t do anything on my own. I am a mess now and if that doesn’t prove how I can screw up my life on my own I don’t know what would prove it? I give God my daily life and then I take it back, but I realized that there are somethings I do not believe I ever gave God. My weight and other things fall in to the “but God I can handle this one” category.

The other thing it would take to anchor my life in God  is to listen. Prayer doesn’t work unless you calm you spirit and listen for God to direct your soul. God sent the Holy Spirit when He took Jesus back to heaven. He left the Holy Spirit to protect, guide and love us. The story of Pentecost where the spirit come down from heaven was not a one time thing that happened for just for the Disciples. The Holy Spirit is alive and here today. We have to listen and accept Him. I know I have other blog posts here that say I have heard God, well I have, all Christians at one point have, but I have allowed the world around me to talk loud enough in my spirit to drown out the Holy Spirit in my life. I did that, not anyone around me, I allowed the life I have been living to take over my heart. God’s word tells us about the still small voice of God. It is still and small for a reason, the peace of God is powerful,  still and small is all we humans can handle. God will never force us in to doing what He wills for us. We have to listen and act. I have not been listening. I have been going at life the way I thought was best, and that, my dear reader is why I am ripping off the band-aides that I used to fix my life.

I am going to anchor my life in God. I am going to stop floating on the sea of uncertainty and take back my temple. I am making a public commitment here and now to anchor myself in God, who’s with me?

One thought on “Band-aides Part Two

  1. This is a very strong post.It is raw truth.I thank God for the strength He is giving you to be so bold & open with this subject of anchoring oneself in God.It is an eye opener for me & things that I need to change .
    May God’s Peace Be with You!

Leave a Reply

