Even When we don’t Feel Like it

I woke up this morning more exhausted than when I went to bed. My friend called to say she was coming over and I was not thrilled about that. I had to get up and get dressed.  I rolled out of bed and thought about my morning prayer time and sighed. All I wanted to do was crawl back in to my bed and stay there.

Even when we don’t feel like it, we must spend time with God. Even when we would rather sleep we must pray. We have to do our part. Just like any other relationship in our  life, if we don’t make an effort to cultivate it and tend to it. The relationship can bottom out. When we step away from reading His word and conversing with Him in prayer God seems distant. It isnt’ that God leaves us, it is that we leave God. We step away from Him. We think, ok, one day of not taking the time to read and pray will be fine. The next thing you know one day leads to two, three, four,….then you look up and your life is a mess and you can imagine why.

So even if you don’t really feel like it, pray anyway. Even if you don’t feel like reading, read the Bible anyway. Make the effort. God will meet you where you are and you will feel better afterwards…or maybe not. Doesnt’ matter do it anyway.  Like to Nike commercials say, Just DO IT!

 

Leave a Reply

