The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

For the most part I liked the story. The characters and plot are well written; however, I think the story did not benefit from children killing each other. The theme of death could have been handled without murder. I am certain that the story could have been just as effective if the tributes died from starvation, sickness, or wild animal attack, which did happen in the story . The element of death is convincing and challenging without adding the element of child on child violence.  If the book is read by younger children parents should be willing to talk about it and read it with their kids. There are bound to be questions. I posted on my other blog about Hunger Games, here. Other than my issue with the children killing, the political under tones were interesting. The thought of what North America could be in the future is sort of scary. I plan to read the rest of the trilogy. I recommend the book, but you are warned. It is not for the faint of heart.

Leave a Reply

