Jealous? Yes He is.

Yes, my friends I have been AWOL for a few days….ok a bit longer than that! I have flown on a jet, found love of new things and discovered beautiful books since I last talked to you last. Also, I have discovered a strong truth about God. Through the past weeks I have  discovered that there is a side of God that we don’t talk about very often. On all the blogs, web sites, church sermons, and other things I read to get my Bible study fix are mostly about what I should do for God. Love God, check. Be forgiving, check. Be obedient, check. Study the Word of God, check. I don’t want to say they are all flowers and rainbows, but they seem surface deep to me.

For years I have embarked on a journey to discover the very nature of God. Who is God? In my search I have found something that is not what we talk about and not what churches focus on. We skim over it but usually it is in a discussion about how God dealt with someone in the Bible, not how He deals with us.

Our God is jealous. He wants all our attention, our love and our desire. When we think of jealousy we think of a lover who is jealous of their significant other desiring someone else. God has the same jealousy. He loves us and he wants all our love in return. When the word jealousy is referring to God in Scripture it is  often due to His people are worshiping idols. “For they provoked Him with their high places, And aroused His jealousy with their graven images” (Psalm 78:58). That same idea is in the New Testament. Paul asks, “Or do we provoke the Lord to jealousy?” (1 Corinthians 10:22)

Can you imagine a God that love you so much that He is jealous? This is not something I learned in Sunday school. I was always taught that it was bad to be jealous, but my God loves me so much that He wants me to love only Him back. How awesome is that?

The realization that I am loved that much then sends me in to the tailspin of doubt and unworthiness. I am not worthy of that love. Who am I that He, the one true God loves me? Then I realize that He chose me first. He created me to love Him.

So for today think about the love God has for you and just love Him back without hesitation or guilt.

2 thoughts on “Jealous? Yes He is.

  1. So true! Here is an excerpt from my upcoming book Three Days at Sea — “O Great and Mighty God, Jealous Lover of my soul—I feel Your Presence. You hold me with Your right hand. You have shown Your love for me. You are compassionate and merciful. You are my joy, and my heart sings Your praises. I long for You.
    Throughout the night You called to me. You walked with me in my sleep and comforted me. This moment I know You as jealous lover of my soul. My soul is overjoyed that You love me so much. Keep me close to You.” You can see more sneak previews here– http://3daysatsea.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

