Lent Again Already?!

Seems like I just posted about lent! Well, here it is again. Keeping with my new tradition, instead of giving up something I add something to my life. I hear ya, “Lori, your life is so busy, when do you sleep?” I had a sleep study done recently and they said I was a 100% efficient sleeper, so sleep is not a problem. This is the third year that I add something positive to my life. The other things I added have stuck around so I am doing the same thing again. Actually, I am adding and taking away for lent.

On Ash Wednesday, I went to the gym. I know that sounds like a selfish thing to do for lent. Getting the old body back in shape doesn’t sound to spiritual.Well, yes it is. You surely know that your body is a temple where the Holy Spirit lives. The Spirit is in you and is a gift from God. You are no longer your own. 20 God paid a great price for you. So use your body to honor God.” 1 Cor 6:19-20

How can I honor God if I can’t walk to the mailbox with out loosing my breath? OK, I am not that out of shape but if I don’t do some thing now, I will be soon. How can I serve God effectively in other areas of my life if my body can’t keep up? Simple, I can’t. I can not let my body decline where it is of no use for God. That is irresponsible of me and, dare I say sinful.

This year I am giving up time, a commodity that is more valuable that money in my life, to improve myself so I can serve God the way he wants me to serve. So, here’s to lent, and here is to improving myself for the glory of God…..(as she hoists her large self up on the elliptical.)

Leave a Reply

