Voices in My Head

I was noticing there are a lot of silly pictures on Facebook about voices in the heads of the users. One that was really funny said “I’m never alone, there is always the little voices in my head that keep me company.” Oh and this one, “To Do list: yell at the voices, lick the polka-dotted unicorn, and steal cookies SO FUN!”  SO SILLY!

We joke about voices and being crazy, when in reality there are voices in our heads. We have thoughts that guide us every second of every day. It is of course, for most people, their consciences. We hear all the time, from the time we are little, listen to your intuition, your heart, or your gut. Even Disney told us through the cricket, “Let your consciences be your guide.” That is good advice if your conscience is guided by the truth.

I hear conversations lately about inner truth, self truth, and universal truth. There is only one truth, that is God’s truth. If I follow my own truth, it isn’t long before I am in the company of evil. I could give you several examples but it would take days. Let me give you a simple one, I love chocolate. If I listen to my truth, I would eat it every day. Actually, I love to eat all sorts of good food. Years of listening to my truth caused me to have about 100 extra pounds to lose. If I had listened to God’s truth, I would not be in this situation. 1 Cor 6:18-20 says “do you not know that your body is the temple of the Holy Spirit who is in you, whom you have from God, and you are not your own?  For you were bought at a price. Therefore glorify God with your body.”

I have voices in my head too, mostly my conscience trying to convince me that the french fries are really vegetables.  The one voice I should listen to is the voice of God. One of the other silly quotes I saw was ” To understand madness, you must hear the voices yourself.”  Cracked me up, but think about it a minute. There is a smidgen of truth there.

Look at it this way.

To understand the truth, you must hear the voice of God for yourself.

How do you hear the voice of God? Meet with Him often in prayer and in His written word. You can’t expect to hear God’s voice of truth if you don’t make yourself available for the conversation.

Now where is that polka-dotted unicorn?

🙂

 

 

Leave a Reply

