Books are Waiting

“In a good bookroom you feel in some mysterious way that you are absorbing the wisdom contained in all the books through your skin, without even opening them.”
― Mark Twain

I sort of feel that way at my public library. I am more at home in a library than I am anywhere else, including my actual home. (My church runs a close second!) There is something magical about walking through the stacks and looking at all the titles. I used to brag about my library in my house. It is impressive for a home library I guess, with it’s collection nearing 1000 books, but it will never compare to the public library. The sad truth is that it never will. I now work where the books live, yes live. They sit on the shelf just waiting for me or someone else to come by and pick them up. Sort of like puppies in a shelter. Pick me Pick me! For that fact I will not be adding to my own collection at the rate I was in the past. There are too many wonderful books at the library. I plan to use my library card like never before. Why spend money on books when you can read them for FREE! Now, if there is a book that you read and fall in love with and think you will certainly read it again. You could buy it, or just write it down and borrow it again from the library.

I have decided to make it my person mission to promote the public library. It is such an untapped resource. People think since there are ebooks and internet that the library is obsolete. I am here to tell you it is not! There are books that you can’t get on an ereader. Plus, if you need correct and reliable information, you need the original search engine, a reference librarian! There are free concerts, plays, and some time free food!

So check out your local library. Let it surprise you!

 

Leave a Reply

