The Struggle of Truth

I am in a struggle at the moment. I know that the Bible is the true word of God. I know that I can trust what I read. My problem is that I am finding things that don’t make sense to me. I am still at the very beginning of my study, but I am having a hard time getting my head around that some passages contradict each other. If the Bible is true and God is well,  God, how can that be? I have a theory. It is not a proven theory, just a hypothesis.

God is perfect, God’s word also perfect. Man is not, thus man’s hand in the Bible corrupted some parts. 

Yea, good in theory, but God’s word is infallible. See the issue? I can only think that I have to do two things to reconcile the struggle in my head. I have to move it to my heart. I have to trust God by the faith I have that He will show me the truth, whatever it is, if I dutifully read His word. Right?

Here is the thing, I have no less than fourteen versions of the Bible on my shelf. I can read anyone of those. Here lately I have been reading on-line. I think the issue is I have a disconnect between my faith in God and my reading God’s word. It is not real to me. I am going to shift back to reading a real in my hands Bible. Maybe the feel of the book in my hand will make it real again to me.

“All Scripture is breathed out by God and profitable for teaching, for reproof, for correction, and for training in righteousness, that the man of God may be competent, equipped for every good work.” 1 Tim 3:16-17

“For the word of God is living and active, sharper than any two-edged sword, piercing to the division of soul and of spirit, of joints and of marrow, and discerning the thoughts and intentions of the heart.” Hebrews 4:12

There are 53 other verses about the Bible in the Bible. If I believe only these two, then I have my answer. If that is the case, since I do believe God’s word, why am I struggling? I don’t have the answer, but I will.

 

 

3 thoughts on “The Struggle of Truth

  1. I do believe that holding his word in my hands does make it more real. I have a child like faith, there is order to everything, God will show you His ways as you study.

  2. It is the only Living Word, it can speak to us one day and confuse us the next. But the Author of it, and the story of redemtion He shares with us is true and acurate from beginning to end.
    Enjoy your studying and growing!

  3. You are not alone in your struggle. 🙂 You just need to pray for the Holy Spirit to convict you of your beliefs, i.e., is the Bible the infallible word of God? I believe with all my heart, yes. Yet that is because I have experienced the Holy Spirit’s counseling. It takes time and you are on the right track! God’s wisdom brings no confusion but peace. I wish you fullness of joy in Christ. -Alicia

Leave a Reply

