Yes, I am a Librarian

I am exactly 146 DAYS from officially becoming a librarian on paper. I will have a MLIS (Master’s of Library and Information Science) from Florida State University. I have been working in a library since September and I am now starting to feel like I am a real librarian, not a librarian wanna be. Maybe it is that I am using what I have learned and I am getting in the swing of things. I am really enjoying the fact that my insides (dreams) match my actions. I haven’t felt that in a long time, only when I am writing or when I am at church. Now I am in my element all day. It reminds me of when I was a child. That free feeling of being who you are, before you know about the pressures of peers and being in the in crowd. I have never been in, I thought maybe I was when I was in my teens and twenties, but no not so much. It is a myth that society spins. That free-falling happiness of childhood is real and you can have it as an adult. You just have to know where to find it.

It is found in being exactly who you are and doing exactly what you were created to do. It is simple really. It is our own insecurities and social demands that makes it appear difficult. All that is a lie. The lies you tell yourself, “I can’t”, “I will fail” and the lies of others, “You can’t do that. ” You will fail” All lies. Once you have the courage to tell yourself the truth and stand up for yourself, it happens. I am living proof.

We have all heard the stories of the person who left a life behind to follow his or her dream to take a year off work to write, climb the highest  mountain, to sail around the world, or go to that third world country to feed children or provide medical treatment to those who can’t afford it. My dream was much smaller, but to me just a noble. I wanted to be a librarian and a writer, so that I can help people in my own small way. Now, I am at the beginning of that dream.

What is your dream? What lie is keeping you from it? You have the power to become who you are, but do you have the courage?

Leave a Reply

