It’s a Mystery

It is killing me that I can’t share my school assignments with you yet. They are all about the bibliophile in all of us. This week I have to read a mystery for class. Now, I really am all for a good who-done-it. That is the problem, what to read? I am trying to decided between an old Agatha Christie  tried and true or something new. I think I will go with something new. I am leaning toward either Amanda Quick or some cozy mystery.

Mystery novels are one of those things that we read to escape reality. What information would a person get from reading a mystery that could benefit them? I think that depends on the person and what they read. If it is a true crime mystery then they can see what reality is like for someone who is living that mystery, but for a fictional depiction of a mystery that is a unique opportunity for writers to connect to readers in a place that is often taboo to discuss. It is certainly a place where in real life we do not want to find ourselves but  the reader can experience the thrill, sadness and suspense without actually being in danger. That is the thrill of the mystery.  The information gathered may, who knows, save the person if they ever find themselves in a similar situation. It can teach them about the human condition in a way that we often do not like to think about. Mysteries let us see in the dark depths of an evil mind, without actually going there.

More on this later, but for now, what I am reading this week is a mystery to you and me.

 

Leave a Reply

