Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

I liked Red Queen at first then I started to experience deja vu. The story is reminiscent of the Hunger Games and Divergent. The characters are very interesting but the story is too similar to so many other young adult stories out there.The plot is regurgitated themes that include forbidden love, the will to win, the inequality between the two races, a revolution of the down trodden and a game of skilled young people killing each other. Sound familiar?   I decided to read it all the way to the end in hopes that the story would surprise me but the end was very flat, anticlimactic and disappointing. I didn’t hate it and will read the next installment of the series. Maybe I will grow to love it.

With that said, Aveyard’s style and writing is smooth and vivid. I am willing to read other things from her because she is a brilliant writer. I read that the author actually envisioned a Grecian/Roman society with electricity. I did not get that from reading the book, so more description of the world she created would have helped.  I hope she has other more original stories to tell. Her use of language to describe the characters was the best part of enduring the boring story. I am thankful that I didn’t buy this book, but borrowed it from the library instead.

 

 

5 thoughts on “Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

    • It is a mixed bag. The characters are interesting and it does have some wild plot twists. Just the base story line is familiar. Read it and let us know what you think. 🙂

Leave a Reply

