The Rook by Daniel O’Malley

As a librarian my ears perk up when I hear a person say, “I loved that book.” I especially pay close attention when that person is a fellow librarian. The Rook is one of those books. I heard rumblings from the librarians about it that morphed into praises. I decided to check it out, literally. I checked out the book on cd.

The story hit me as a cross between Men in Black and Ghostbusters.  A woman wakes up in a garden, surrounded by several men in latex gloves, and with no memory of who she is or how she got there. Fortunately, Myfanwy (rhymes with “Tiffany”) Thomas left her future self letters. Myfanwy discovers that she is a Rook of the Checquy, a secret society who takes care of supernatural threats to Britain. The only problem is that someone  out to kill her.

I do not want to give any of this thrill ride way, so I will just say that if you like fantasy, thrillers you will like The Rook. If you like fantasy, thrillers, creepy horror with a strong female lead, you will love it.

Leave a Reply

